Meet our newest leader!

Meet Laura

She is a new volunteer babywearing educator (VBE) in our Chicagoland group.

We’re very excited to have her on board!  Why you ask?  A couple of reasons…

First-

She’s in Chicago.  🙂  That really helps us out.  It’s trying driving into the city for meetings with the mamas in Chicago.  Until now, the closest leader was me, and it takes me an hour to get to the city, in NON rush hour traffic. 🙂  And I WASN’T the one doing most of the meetings.  Colleen has been gracious enough to do most of the city meetings.

Luckily, there are a ton of experienced mamas who have been doing playdates and helping each other learn all the different carriers and carries.  Some of these caregivers have absolutely phenomenal skills at helping others.  And we LOVE those mamas.  🙂  You know who you are.  But to have an “official” meeting, we need at least one leader.

Second-

She’s passionate about helping others, really good with the parents, and AWESOME with the babies!

Third-

She’s an extra special caregiver.  She’s the first nanny who has become a VBE with our organization (and our chapter).  We have a lot of caregivers come to the group with questions, for help, or just for some social interaction.  We see moms, dads, grandparents, foster parents, and nannies.  But we’ve never had anyone other than a parent interested in leadership before.  She has a really interesting background, and we want to share a little with you.

Some questions for Laura

I (Heather) asked a few questions, and want to share her responses with you:

HEATHER:  What made you interested in using baby carriers to begin with?

LAURA:  I have been keeping my little ones close since I started babysitting 16 years ago. Then about 10 years ago I discovered the Baby Bjorn and used that  with my little ones for quite a while. Next was the moby wrap. Then I attended the babywearing class at BeByBaby realized that there were a lot of  different carriers out there. They recommended BWI and the rest is history. I guess I have naturally just always wanted to keep my little ones close.  This is where they have been the most comfortable. Babywearing was just an added benefit, which allowed me to be hands free.

HEATHER:  What made you interested in leadership/ helping others use carriers?

LAURA:  First, it was probably encouragement by you and others. Second, I wanted to be able to help others find a way to keep their little ones close.

HEATHER:  Can you tell us how babywearing has helped you in your job and with family?

LAURA:  It has helped me stay close to my little ones and also be able to get things done at the same time. I also think it helps to foster healthy attachment.

HEATHER:  What is your favorite carrier/carry?

LAURA:  My favorite carry would probably have to be a FWCC or a Ruck with a woven. I just love how versatile, comfortable, and adjustable woven wraps are.

HEATHER:  Is there anything else you want us to know?

LAURA:  If you haven’t figured this out by now I love taking care of little ones! I also enjoy music, volunteering at Children’s Memorial, studying Child Development/Psychology/Bioethics (I have a BS in Psychology (Child Focus), helping new moms figure out their little ones, and engaging in outdoor activities. I also worked in Pediatric healthcare in the military (US Navy for 5 years). 

WELCOME!  We’re so happy to have you on board Laura!

One thought on “Meet our newest leader!

Leave a Reply

